Exhibit at Kennedy Heights Art Center April 30 – June 11

The Opening

Circus worker drives a stake for the elephant shelter.

Saturday April 30 arrived sunny and bright, a respite in what had been a very rainy Spring.At least the weather should not be a factor for attendance for the opening of White People:A Retrospective. I can think back to a time when I was part of a group of artists who would come together to show work only to have very few people show up to look. I guess I can say I’ve come a long way since those days.

I’m gratified and humbled by the amount of people who came to the Kennedy Heights Arts Center this past Saturday. I thank Executive Director Ellen Muse- Lindeman for her support and making Kennedy Heights Arts Center available to me. Thank you Tom Schiff, and Scripps Howard Foundation for your financial support. My friend Jymi Bolden came on board early as Guest Curator. Even earlier Kathy Y Wilson agreed to create text, and working with Terrence Hammonds created a thought provoking, three part suite in the Sun Porch. Eric Bartels installed the photographs and signage in the gallery with creative care and sensitivity.

My daughter Samantha along with Donna Marsh helped me get the word out via social media. Samantha also set me up with this blog and created a poster. My son Miles was a constant source of ideas and an invaluable sounding board. My wife Brenda was the anchor of encouragement that she has always been.

Thank you Ryan Ostrander for creating the invitation. And thanks to all of you who came out Saturday, and that will come see White People:A Retrospective. I invite you to be at Kennedy Heights Arts Center this Saturday,May 7, for my Gallery Talk at 2 pm.

Leave a Reply

